The Bureau of Soils and Water Management implemented the project “Land Resources Evaluation and Suitability Assessment of Strategic Production Areas for Cacao and Coffee” covering 29 provinces and 1 City and to further cover additional commodities the agency also implemented the project “Land Resources Evaluation and Suitability Assessment of Strategic Production Areas for Major Commodities” which includes Cacao, Coffee, Rubber, Abaca and Cassava covering all the provinces of Mindanao. These projects were funded by the Bureau of Agricultural Research. Under the project, Land Suitability Maps of the various commodities in different provinces were already completed.

Land resources evaluation project is basically a suitability assessment of the different land utilization types suitable for different major crops/commodities production areas. The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) land suitability assessment framework (FAO 1976) will be used to interpret the data; particularly the land suitability classification criteria. The projects combine edaphic classification and economic evaluation to come up with physically/environmentally suitable and economically and socially acceptable land use decisions Detailed survey/ ground truthing was conducted to validate the output of the project.

Province, Region Cacao Coffee (Arabica) Coffee (Robusta, Excelsa, Liberica) Rubber Abaca Cassava
Apayao, CAR
Benguet, CAR
Kalinga, CAR
Mt. Province, CAR
Nueva Vizcaya, II
Quirino, II
Batangas, IVA
Cavite, IVA
Laguna, IVA
Quezon, IVA
Palawan, IVB
Iloilo, VI
Bohol, VII
Negros Oriental, VII
Southern Leyte, VIII
Zamboanga del Sur, IX
Zamboanga del Norte, IX
Zamboanga del Sibugay, IX
Bukidnon, X
Camiguin, X
Lanao del Norte, X
Misamis Occidental, X
Misamis Oriental, X
Compostela Valley, XI
Davao City, XI
Davao del Norte, XI
Davao del Sur, XI
Davao Oriental, XI
Davao Occidental, XI
North Cotabato, XII
Saranggani, XII
South Cotabato, XII
Sultan Kudarat, XII
Agusan del Sur, XIII
Agusan del Norte, XIII
Dinagat Island, XIII
Surigao del Norte, XIII
Surigao del Sur, XIII
Basilan, BARMM
Lanao del Sur, BARMM
Maguindanao, BARMM
Tawi-tawi, BARMM


Local Government Units, planners, policy and decision makers, and farmers.

Contact us for more inquiries